The Hating Game: A Novel by Sally Thorne

the hating game sally thorneI randomly picked up The Hating Game by Sally Thorne when I was at the library doing some work.  It had a colorful and interesting cover, so it caught my attention.  It also had a pretty interesting name and when I read the back cover, it seemed like an interesting book.  Bringing it home was part of my effort to read more fiction books and to be more spontaneous with my selection process.

The Hating Game is a light-hearted romantic comedy that I ended up enjoying quite a bit.  Basically, Lucy and Josh are two coworkers who seem to hate each other.  They are always verbally sparring and threatening to call HR on one another.  To be honest, at first I wasn’t sure if I was going to like this book.  For the first few chapters, the dialogue felt forced and unrealistic.  I couldn’t see Lucy and Josh’s professional relationship being something that could exist in real life.  How could two adults act so childish?  However, I stuck with it and after the first few chapters, I had a hard time putting it down.  I’m not sure if it took me a minute to get used to the dialogue or if it just improved over the course of the book.  I enjoyed the character development and it was fun to get to know these two coworkers who absolutely hated each other.  I found myself wanting to continue reading and find out what will come of their relationship in the future.  What becomes of their relationship is sort of predictable, but aren’t all RomComs like that?  Overall, I really enjoyed The Hating Game and would recommend!

One Response to The Hating Game: A Novel by Sally Thorne

  1. […] New reading blog post!  Check it out on reading blog Read This! …Not That. […]

Leave a Reply

