The Girl on the Train by Paula Hawkins

The_Girl_On_The_Train_(US_cover_2015)As with many books, I’m behind the times with The Girl on the Train.  I just finished reading it a few short weeks ago.  I’ve been meaning to read it for a while, but I had a whole bunch of other books I owned that I wanted to read first.  [Sort of] Unfortunately all of those books were non-fiction, so they took me a while to read.  I say “unfortunately” because (as I posted in my last post) I’ve realized that reading non-fiction books makes me read super slow.  It’s not that I don’t like them, it’s just that they require a lot more attention than a fiction book, so I often don’t think to myself “Oh, I’ll go read” as a fun thing to do.  I’m currently on a mission to read more fiction or biographies.  Yes, I know, biographies are non-fiction!  However, I find that they usually read in the way a fiction novel does.

Anyway, girls on trains!!  I quite enjoyed this mystery/thriller/drama book.  If you liked Gone Girl, I think you’ll like The Girl on the Train (and visa versa).  I was somehow able to avoid all spoilers in the past few years and although I really wanted to go see the movie, I waited until I read the book.  (I just watched the movie…it’s not very good.  So read the book first!)  It was a fairly easy read and a nice change of pace from what I’m used to reading these days.  It definitely kept me curious and on my toes throughout, but I was happy that the ending wasn’t totally out of left field.  It was realistic.  Overall, The Girl on the Train involves everything you’d think for a thriller – murder, infidelity, and suspense.

The story follows Rachel, an alcoholic who is still devastated by the dissolution of her marriage to a man named Tom.  Although she no longer has a job, she rides the train each morning and night.  She particularly enjoys watching this one couple from the train and after the woman goes missing, Rachel gets herself involved in the investigation.  If you like a good mystery/thriller, this is a great book for you!  I’d definitely recommend The Girl on the Train.

One Response to The Girl on the Train by Paula Hawkins

  1. […] little behind the times with this one…New book blog post on Read This!…Not That. The Girl on the Train by Paula […]

Leave a Reply

