The Secret History by Donna Tartt

secret_history_penguinThe Secret History was so good!  I usually shy away from fiction books, but I’m always down for a good mystery.  The Secret History did not disappoint in that regard.

I was gifted a copy of this book while on vacation with my boyfriend’s family when his mom and aunt suggested I read it.  They both enjoyed it and thought I would too.  I was finishing up a few other books I was reading at the time, so I finally was able to finish this book in mid November (and yes, I’m just writing about it now – ayyyy).

I would definitely recommend The Secret History to anyone who enjoys a well thought out mystery.  The book moves a little on the slow side, but not slow enough that my attention wavered.  When I say that, I mean that it’s not necessarily a page turning thriller, even though I continuously did not want to put the book down.  I felt that Tartt really takes the time to develop the characters in a thoughtful way and that was something I really enjoyed since the characters are interesting people.  I loved how although we are a part of the story from the first person view of Richard, there is still this feeling of not really knowing all that transpired or is currently transpiring.  I liked that because I felt that either Richard didn’t really know what was happening either or he wanted to keep certain things from us, whether that was intentional or unintentional.  I enjoyed having to piece together parts of the story myself and the small intricacies Tartt added to the story.

My boyfriend felt like it didn’t have a solid ending and he didn’t particularly care for that, but I thought the ending was very fitting.  Everything just kind of faded into question and that’s the feeling you were supposed to have when finishing.  I was a big fan of the ending and after telling my boyfriend my reasonings for liking the ending, he was actually on board as well.  What I think I enjoyed most about it was the feeling that I was witnessing something I felt like I shouldn’t be, and I think that is a very hard thing to pull off in any medium.  Kudos to Tartt for that.  In short, read The Secret History!  I think you’ll really enjoy it.

One Response to The Secret History by Donna Tartt

  1. […] New book review on my other blog!  I read and reviewed The Secret History by Donna Tartt. […]

Leave a Reply

